+27 (0)12 643 3400


Block A, Inkwazi Office Park 1249 Embankment Road, Centurion, Gauteng


Home      About Us


Head Office:

+27 (0)12 643 3400


Vision & Mission

Vision: Unity about Agriculture

Mission: Agri SA promotes the development, profitability, stability and sustainability of primary agriculture in South Africa by means of its involvement and input on national and international policy and the implementation thereof.


Agri SA, a federation of agricultural organisations, was established in 1904 as the South African Agricultural Union and consists of nine provincial and 26 commodity organisations as well as 44 corporate members.

Essentially Agri SA, through its affiliated membership, represents a diverse grouping of individual farmers regardless of gender, colour or creed. Agri SA’s policy advocacy includes work on trade negotiations, industrial policy, taxation, financing, land reform, labour laws, training, farmer development, environmental affairs, water rights and water pricing, other input-related issues, farm safety, law and order, infrastructure, technology development and transfer, statistical information and local government.

Furthermore, the organisation maintains an extensive communication network with its members and other affected communities, organisations and individuals.

Agri SA is a member of high-level business, trade and agricultural entities including Business Unity South Africa (BUSA), the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), the World Farmers’ Organisation (WFO), the Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions (SACAU) and the Cairns Group Farm Leaders.

Agri SA communicates with its members via its two-monthly magazine, namely Agri (incorporating Die Boer/The Farmer) an electronic newsletter as well as a policy bulletin.

Board of Directors

Pierre Vercueil, President

Pierre is a grain and livestock farmer from the North West province. He is a former president of Agri North West.

BSc Agric

Phenias Gumede, Deputy president

Phenias is a cotton farmer from KwaZulu-Natal. He is a vice president of Kwanalu and represents producers on the board of Cotton SA.

Diploma Farm management and Office administration

Jaco Minnaar, Deputy president

Jaco is maize farmer from the Free State. He is chairman of Grain SA.

B.Eng (Agriculture)

Niël Joubert, Commodity Chamber representative

Niël is a wine producer from the Klein-Karoo. He is a board member at Vinpro.

Diploma Marketing and Sales Management

SK Makinana, Commodity Chamber representative

SK is a sheep farmer and Nat. Vice Chairman (Communal) of the NWGA.

UP short course on Potato Pathology | UPE Team leadership programme for SAPS

Nicol Jansen , General Affairs Chamber representative

Nicol Jansen farms with various grain commodities as well as livestock. He is president of Agri Northern Cape

Piet Engelbrecht, General Affairs Chamber representative

Piet is a well-established citrus fruit grower in the Loskop Valley. He is also president of Agri Limpopo

Dr Kathy Hurly, Independent Non Executive Director

Dr Hurley serves as an Executive Director on the SA Cane Growers' Association's board.

PHD BSc (Botany) | Higher Diploma in Education

Douglas Stern, General Affairs Chamber representative

Doug is a sheep and cattle farmer in the Graaff-Reinet area. He is president of Agri Eastern Cape.

Agricultural Diploma

Gerhard Diedericks, Corporate Chamber Representative

Gerhard is head of Santam Agriculture. He has farming intrerests that includes game.

Fellow of the Insurance Institute of South Africa

Rossouw Cillie, Corporate Chamber representative

Rossouw is a commercial farmer of the Western Cape. He is chairman of the Pro-Agri Group.

National Agricultural Diploma

Charlotte Nkuna, Independent Non Executive Director

BA (Veterinary Medicine and Surgery) | MBA

Nic Bronkhorst, Corporate Chamber Representative

Nic is managing director of the Obaro group.

BA Communication | MBA

Christo van der Rheede, Executive Director

HDE | BA | Honours BPA | MPA

Derek Mathews, Commodity Chamber representative


Christo van der Rheede, Executive Director

HDE | BA | Honours BPA | MPA

Kobus Visser, Director Rural Safety and Provincial Affairs

BAgric | MBA

Annelize Crosby, Policy Head Land Affairs

BLC | LLB | LLM (Constitutional practice) Admitted attorney

Janse Rabie, Policy Head Natural Resources

BComm | LLB | LLM (Marine and Environmental Law)

Aloise Fullex, Marketing Manager

BCom Business Sciences |
BCom Honours (Marketing and Business Management)

Thea Liebenberg, Media Administrator

Phyllis Strydom, Accountant

Ingrid Smith, Assistant Accountant

Corrie Botes, Assistant Accountant

Elize Schoeman, Assistant Accountant

Jolanda Andrag, Head: Commodities Chamber

BA (Political Studies and Humanities) (Academic honours) | BA Hons Political Studies (Academic honours) | MA (Political Science)

Gregory Smith, Natural Resources Officer (Water)

BSc Environmental and Water Science | Honours

Cynthia Mmela, Receptionist & Travel and Subsistence officer

Jana Robinson, Executive Assistant

Ellen van Niekerk, Secretarial Administrator

Meisie Masola, Office Support

Marnu de Wet, IT & Building Management

Abel Ngomane, Maintenance Support

Isaac Mkhize, Maintenance Support

Mihlali Xhala, Head: Corporate Chamber

BA (Social Dynamics) |
Honours (Political Science)

Nel Coetzee, Intern

BCom Agricultural Economics | Certificate in Digital Marketing

Lebogang Sethusha, Intern

LLB | PGCert Media Law & Prospecting and mining law

Andrea Campher, Disaster Management Manager

LLB | LLM – Environmental Law and Governance

Jeanett Ntimbane, Office Support

Etienne van der Vyver, Chief Financial Officer


Jeanrè du Plessis, Intern: Marketing and Communication

BCom Communication Management | BCom Honours Communication Management

Leshoko Mokgobu, Intern

National Diploma in Public Relations and Communication